Roly Porter, Bas Mooy, Fis appear on Rotterdam-themed 010 compilation

  • Share
  • Released by Fog Mountain Records, the LP is made from field recordings of the city provided by the Netherlands' RE:VIVE initiative.
  • Roly Porter, Bas Mooy, Fis appear on Rotterdam-themed 010 compilation image
  • Fog Mountain Records is releasing a new compilation called 010 made in partnership with the Netherlands Institute For Sound And Vision. The Institute's RE:VIVE initiative encourages artists to make new work from archival recordings and material—earlier this year, R&S duo Lakker made an EP from the same archives. Now Dutch label Fog Mountain has compiled a whole album made up of field recordings of Rotterdam, inspired by the city's almost complete destruction in World War II and the resulting revitalization that made it look very different from other major Dutch cities. 010, named for the Rotterdam area code, features experimental artists Roly Porter and Fis, techno producers Bas Mooy and Drvg Cvltvre as well as a handful of Dutch producers like ANIK, Lemontrip and HOEK. The label says the source material allowed for "very little melody aside from the medieval bells of the Sint-Laurenskerk," and that the sound is heavily informed by Rotterdam's industrial port and "the cold concrete and glass architecture of the city's skyline, the wide boulevards, the hustle and bustle of a working class community challenging and embracing a rapidly modernizing society." Stream the entire album.
    Tracklist 01. Roly Porter - Sint Laurenskerk 02. HOEK - Haven 03. Nukubus - Coming From 04. Consulate - Nieuw Maas Terreur 05. Bas Mooy - Maashaven 06. Drvg Cvltvre - Glass, Steel And Skulls 07. Lemontrip - Middelland 08. Mill Burray - Bring It In 09. Fis - Drain Torch 10. Meta - Eva 11. BZGRL - Koppelen 12. ANIK - Maastunnel 13. Oaktree - The City Is A Jungle 14. Lwa - View From The Euromast 010 is out now via Fog Mountain Records.