Bonobo announces new album, Migration

  • Share
  • It's Simon Green's first solo LP since 2013.
  • Bonobo announces new album, Migration image
  • Bonobo's sixth album, Migration, will come out through Ninja Tune in January 2017. It's Simon Green's first album since 2013's The North Borders. "My own personal idea of identity has played into this record and the theme of migration," says the UK artist. "Is home where you are or where you are from, when you move around?" Green describes the album as a "study of people and spaces," adding: "It's interesting how one person will take an influence from one part of the world and move with that influence and affect another part of the world. Over time, the identities of places evolve." Guest appearances come from Nick Murphy (formerly Chet Faker), Rhye, Nicole Miglis and Innov Gnawa. Ninja Tune say that Migration contains field recordings including "an elevator in Hong Kong airport, rain in Seattle, a tumble dryer in Atlanta and a fan boat engine in New Orleans." The first taste of the album is the Brandy-sampling lead track "Kerala," which Green began making on a tour bus in the US during 2014. Murals of the album's cover art have already appeared in London and Los Angeles. Green will head out on a live Migration tour of Europe and the US in 2017. Watch a video for "Kerala."
    Tracklist 01. Migration 02. Break Apart feat. Rhye 03. Outlier 04. Grains 05. Second Sun 06. Surface feat. Nicole Miglis 07. Bambro Koyo Ganda feat. Innov Gnawa 08. Kerala 09. Ontario 10. No Reason feat. Nick Murphy 11. 7th Sevens 12. Figures Ninja Tune will release Migration on January 13th, 2017.