Pan Sonic announce their last release

  • Share
  • Blast First Petite will release the Finnish duo's Atomin Paluu soundtrack next month.
  • Pan Sonic announce their last release image
  • Blast First Petite will release Pan Sonic's soundtrack for Atomin Paluu, or Return Of The Atom, in July. The legendary experimental duo's score for Mika Taanila's documentary, which chronicles the troubled construction of a nuclear power plant in western Finland (the first to be built anywhere in the world after the 1986 Chernobyl disaster), is described as their final Pan Sonic release. The entire project had been subject to lengthy delays relating to problems at the plant— Mika Vainio and Ilpo Väisänen worked on the soundtrack from 2005 to 2011, using third-party field recordings captured while the film was being made, and Vainio edited it for the LP format last year. The soundtrack already earned a prestigious Jussi Award in Finland, and now full details of a release through Blast First Petite, home to much of Pan Sonic's studio output, have been revealed. Comprising 12 simply titled tracks and a little over an hour of music, it will come on gatefold CD and double-vinyl formats. Vainio recently connected with Taanila to craft a score for his new film Mannerlaatta (or Tectonic Plate)—that one will come out through iDEAL Recordings in August. Check out Atomin Paluu's trailer.
    Tracklist 01. Atomin Paluu Part 1 02. Atomin Paluu Part 2 03. Atomin Paluu Part 3 04. Atomin Paluu Part 4 05. Atomin Paluu Part 5 06. Atomin Paluu Part 6 07. Atomin Paluu Part 7 08. Atomin Paluu Part 8 09. Atomin Paluu Part 9 10. Atomin Paluu Part 10 11. Atomin Paluu Part 11 12. Atomin Paluu Part 12 Blast First Petite will release Atomin Paluu (Return Of The Atom) on July 22nd, 2016.