Gqom Oh! announces mixtape in collaboration with Crudo Volta

  • Share
  • The collection comes in cassette and digital formats, with new tracks and a mix.
  • Gqom Oh! announces mixtape in collaboration with Crudo Volta image
  • Gqom Oh! will release a mixtape made with Italian collective Crudo Volta on July 18th. The new release was compiled while label boss Nan Kolè was in Durban, South Africa (the home of gqom) for a documentary called Woza Taxi. The press release says that the trip to Durban "lent a tremendous amount of insight to Kolè, granting him both a detailed and broad view of the Gqom scene and what Gqom means to the youth of the township." The release follows this year's The Sound Of Durban compilation, which highlighted young producers and showed the breadth of the genre, which has been compared to UK funky. For the mixtape, Kolè has gathered together 14 new tracks from the likes of Cruel Boyz, Mafia Boyz, Formation Boyz, Emo Kid and Forgotten Souls. The tape version features the first seven tracks on one side and a DJ mix by Kolè on the other, along with a download code to get all 14 tracks digitally. The tape also comes with a tabloid featuring pictures from the Durban trip as well as a shirt and online access to the premiere of Woza Taxi, which comes out the same day as the mixtape. Check out a trailer for the documentary.
    Tracklist 01. Dominowe - Darbuka Tribe (Core Tribe) 02. Mafia Boyz - Toyizi Ley'ngane 03. Julz Da Deejay - Quantums And Qo 04. Formation Boyz - Dlala AmaBenuBenu 05. Citizen Boy - Indaba Ka Bani Besibenuza 06. Emo Kid - Hennessy feat. WorstHood 07. Cruel Boyz - Cruel Drumz 08. TLC Fam - No 2 BeeF (Slima) 09. Mafia Boyz - Bhengi YoKhalipha 10. DJ Mabheko - Izinyosi (Core Tribe) 11. Julz Da Deejay - Broken Souls 12. Dominowe - Dark Valley (Core Tribe) 13. TLC Fam - Umgcwabo WeNdanda (Da 4th Term Mix) 14. Forgotten Souls - Blow My Mind (DJ Nerd Vocalist) Gqom Oh! will release Gqom Oh! X Crudo Volta Mixtape? on July 18th, 2016.