Berlin's CTM announces first names for 2016

  • Share
  • "New Geographies" is the theme for the next edition of the experimental festival, which runs from January 29th through February 7th.
  • Berlin's CTM announces first names for 2016 image
  • Initial details for the next edition of CTM have emerged. The 2016 instalment will run in various Berlin venues from January 29th through February 7th. It's been co-curated by Rabih Beaini and, as always, the bookings have been influenced by a specific theme. This time around it's "new geographies," which organisers say "examines today's rapidly collapsing borders and emerging new hybrid topographies." In keeping with that theme, more artists from outside major electronic music centres have been booked than ever before, with acts from China, Macedonia, Lithuana, Lebanon and Tunisia all confirmed. More than 20 acts make up the first lineup announcement. They include New Zealand experimentalists Fis and Rob Thorne, Roll The Dice's Peder Mannerfelt and Vincent Moon, along with more party-friendly acts like Lena Willikens, Kassem Mosse, Honey Dijon. A number of lectures, screenings and talks will also take place. Details for those, plus additional lineup announcements, will land in the coming weeks.

    • Laurel Halo, Rabih Beaini, Tommaso Cappellato, Daniele De Santis, Hanno Leichtmann, Love Cult, Fis, Peder Mannerfelt, J.G. Biberkopf, Deena Abdelwahed, Pauline Oliveros, Stephen O'Malley, Heatsick, Keiji Haino, Aïsha Devi, Le1f, Jlin, Rødhåd, Visionist, Gesloten Cirkel, Nídia, Mumdance, Nkisi, Kablam, Esplendor Geometrico, Rabit, Jerusalem In My Heart, Lena Willikens, Kassem Mosse, GAIKA, Andre Bratten, Buttechno, PRAED, Slick Shoota, HMOT, Thug Entrancer, Mikael Seifu, Honey Dijon, Why Be, Resom, Alienata, ATEQ, Renaissance Man, Charlotte Bendiks, Mobilegirl, Dis Fig, Borusiade, Ticklish, Moscoman, Delfonic, Autarkic, Baris K, Opium Hum, Floating Points, Pole, Ah! Kosmos, Nan Kolè
      TBA - Berlin