Visionquest launch label with Benoit and Sergio

  • Published
    Tue, 14 Dec 2010, 12:50
  • Words
    Resident Advisor
  • Share
  • The new imprint is headed by Seth Troxler, Ryan Crosson, Shaun Reeves and Lee Curtiss.
  • Visionquest launch label with Benoit and Sergio image
  • Four-piece production outfit Visionquest will launch their own label early next year, kicking off with an EP by Benoit & Sergio. The crew behind Visionquest is a veritable rat pack of American DJs: Seth Troxler, Shaun Reeves, Lee Curtiss and Ryan Crosson. All four grew up in or around Detroit, and aside from Curtiss, all of them moved to Berlin to pursue full-time DJ careers. As Visionquest, they've mostly kept busy doing remixes, perhaps most memorably with their version of Kiki's "Good Voodoo" from last year. With the new label, they plan to showcase lesser-known talents like Footprintz, Tale Of Us and Niki Nakazawa, as well as some of their own productions. Benoit & Sergio specialize in dance floor tracks with unusual pop sensibility, which makes them a fitting start for Visionquest. Made up of Benoit Simone and Sergio Giorgini (the latter of whom is half of ndf), the duo has put out two records to date: the flamboyant What I've Lost EP on Bruno Pronsato's thesongsays imprint, and the more restrained follow up Midnight People on Spectral Sound. Much like the former release, Where the Freaks Have No Name is slick club music with a whiff of glam, thanks in part to Bryan Ferry-inspired vocals about girls and drugs. Benoit & Sergio will follow the record next year with an EP on DFA. Tracklist 01. Walk and Talk 02. Where the Freaks Have No Name 03. Day Residue Visionquest will release Where the Freaks Have No Name on January 31st, 2011.