DarkStarr mix Psychedelic Disco-Tech

  • Published
    Mon, 7 Jun 2010, 17:00
  • Words
    Resident Advisor
  • Share
  • Still Going, Joey Negro and Mavin all feature on the transatlantic duo's new compilation.
  • DarkStarr mix Psychedelic Disco-Tech image
  • DarkStarr, the DJ team consisting of Ashley Beedle and Colleen 'Cosmo' Murphy, are ready to release their first mix CD, entitled Psychedelic Disco-Tech. Hailing from London and New York respectively, DarkStarr have bags of electronic music history between them; Beedle is a former member of the groups Black Science Orchestra and X-Press 2 and a longtime staple of London's club scene, while Murphy honed her craft at The Loft and worked closely with disco pioneer David Mancuso. In the studio and behind the decks, the pair champion a diverse style of cosmic-leaning disco, as loosely described by their new mix CD's title. "How do we describe the amalgamation of trippy, far-out tunes we play at our nights?" asks Murphy. "What term can depict the variety of moods and emotions we portray without locking us into a certain category? We needed an illustration that was all encompassing and 'psychedelic disco-tech' just seemed to cover it." The compilation consists of two discs, one mixed by Beedle and the other by Murphy. Mostly contemporary disco is featured, plus a few eclectic gems like Chicago Transit Authority's "I'm a Man." Some of the duo's other projects are featured as well, with tracks by The Wild Rumpus (Murphy and Gary Lucas) and a DarkStarr remix of Mavin (Beedle and Darren Morris). Tracklist CD 1 - Cosmo's Mix 01. The Wild Rumpus - Kazan 02. Chicago Transit Authority - I'm A Man 03. Still Going - Spaghetti Circus 04. Mass Production - Cosmic Lust 05. Shirley Lites - Heat You Up (Melt You Down) 06. Yam Who? - Wax the Van (Yam Who? Rework) 07. Sidwho? - Vote Bowie for President 08. Fontan - ....You Too 09. Mavin feat. Candi Station - Revolution (DarkStarr Remix) 10. Vincent Montana Jr. - Warp Factor 11. Bob Holroyd - African Drug CD 2 - Ashley's Mix 01. Grandadbob - Pictures (Quiet Village Remix) 02. Little Big Bee - City, Country, City (Franck Roger Remix) 03. Blackjoy - Djomani (Disco Jams Mix) 04. Shake the Dog feat. Jepthe Guillaume - Kite Yo Danse 05. Joey Negro & the Sunburst - Man of War (Henrik Schwarz Remix) 06. The KDMS - Never Stop Believing (Nicky Siano Jaguar Remix) 07. Supernova - Sweet Disco Music 08. Simone Fedi - Belzebu Tales 09. Yam Who? - The Star of a Story 10. Afrikanz on Marz - The Road We Travel (Suspension) 11. Illa J feat. Bebi Nova - Sounds Like Love (Carlos Nino & Miguel Atwood-Ferguson's In Space Remix) MRR will release DarkStarr's Psychedelic Disco-Tech on June 21st, 2010.