Scratch Perverts unveil Beatdown

  • Published
    Thu, May 21, 2009, 12:20
  • Words
    Resident Advisor
  • Share
  • The hip-hop collective's latest compilation sees them forge a new direction, taking in dubstep, electro-house and drum'n'bass.
  • Scratch Perverts unveil Beatdown image
  • Scratch Perverts are set to release their latest mix CD next month, entitled Beatdown. Taking its name from their annual Fabric party, the mix has been designed to showcase what you'd hear in a recent club set by the trio, and totally eschews the hip-hop sound that they're best known for. Instead, Beatdown features recent cuts from the dubstep (Joker, Skream, Digital Mystikz), electro-house (Jack Beats, Laidback Luke) and drum & bass (Sigma, Lomax, Logistics) scenes, but the trio are quick to refute any suggestion that they're jumping on any bandwagons. As Perverts member Tony Vegas explains, "We're not just scene hoppers! When you play as much of a mixed bag as we do, you can get the finger pointed. It’s not true - hopefully after hearing the mix, people will come and hear us play out and realise that. We’re not doing it for any other reason apart from the fact that this is what we do and what we're listening to; this is what we’re fans of." Fellow Pervert Plus One also cites a change in people's listening habits as another reason why they felt able to release a mix so far from their usual style. "There was a time when people wouldn’t step out of their musical zone," he explains, "but now it’s like - fuck it, the more diverse the better! We’re not against where we’ve been musically in the past at all - but what’s the point in just playing old school hip-hop records, when there's so much fresh new music out there on your doorstep?" Tracklist 01. Caspa - Rat-A-Tat-Tat Ft. Dynamite MC 02. High Rankin – Money For Guns 03. Benga - Stop Watching 04. Skitz Ft. Buggsy - Born Inna System (DJ Prime Cuts Mix) 05. Digital Mystikz – Eyez 06. The Qemists - Dem Na Like Me (Subscape Dub) 07. Skream - Aggy Face 08. Joker - Do It 09. Foreign Beggars VS Rouge A Levres - Hit That Gash (DJ Prime Cuts Itchy Naan Re-Rub) 10. Chase & Status - Saxon 11. Kutz – Grit Your Teeth 12. The Others – Credit Crunch VIP 13. DJ Prime Cuts ft. Dynamite MC – Warning 14. Rusko - Jahova VIP 15. Flying Lotus - Roberta Flack (Martyn’s Heartbeat Mix) 16. Zomby – Rumours & Revalations 17. Buraka Som Sistema – Sound Of Kuduro ft. DJ Znobia, M.I.A., Saborosa & Puto Prata (DJ Mehdi’s Sound Of Terror Remix) 18. Feadz Ft. MC Wesley - Subiu, Desceu 19. Zombie Disco Squad – The Dance 20. Kissy Sell Out - This Kiss (Jack Beats Mix) 21. Laidback Luke and A-Trak – Shake It Down 22. AC Slater - Jack Got Jacked (Jack Beats Remix) 23. Mujava – Township Funk (Boy 8 Bit Remix) 24. Boy 8 Bit – Baltic Pine 25. Jesse Rose - Touch My Horn 26. Zinc - 128 Trek 27. Hervé Ft. Marina Gasolina – Who Da Champ? 28. Diplo & Laidback Luke – Hey 29. Jack Beats – U.F.O. (The K-Hole Bass Riddim) 30. Dirtyphonics – Vandals 31. Logistics - Jungle Music 32. Lomax - Faith Massive 33. Jakes – Warface [D*Minds Remix] 34. Spor – Aztec 35. DJ Fresh - Off World 36. Dirty Harry – Fools 37. Sigma – Paint It Black Fabric will release Scratch Perverts' Beatdown on June 15th, 2009.