!K7 DJ Kicks Release and AUS Music Label Night with Will Saul October and Youandewan

  • Hot on the heels of the DJ mix of 2013 from John Talabot and following luminaries such as Maya Jane Coles, Maceo Plex and Breach, next in line to mix it up for the esteemed !K7 DJ-Kicks series is Aus Music and Simple Records boss Will Saul. Englishman Saul has had a busy 12 months – not only did 2013 see him release his debut album as Close, an avant guard dance-pop project that called upon high profile collaborators like Scuba and Appleblim and landed on !K7, but so too did he make his debut in the live arena at clubs like London’s influential fabric. Of course, in that time he has also continued to steer both his labels down various underground house, bass and techno paths, nurturing new talent and old heads alike. Says the man himself… “I wanted the mix to represent how I DJ in the sense that the majority of my sets are made up mainly of my own, or my label’s, unreleased or forthcoming music. Hopefully this gives me something unique as DJ, not just as I play tracks that no one else has, but also because they are artists and tracks that I love enough to want to sign, so they really represent what I love about electronic music. “With this in mind, I approached all my nearest and dearest for some tailor made exclusive tracks. The result is hopefully a mix that rekindles the thing I loved about listening to mixes 20 years ago – that unknown aspect where each new track is a surprise. In a time when all music/track IDs and myriad mixes are accessible at the click of a button, I hope this makes for something a little more interesting.” Will Saul’s DJ-Kicks represents a condensed version of one of his DJ sets – it touches on all aspects from warm-up to headline to closing sets and highlights the taste-making label boss’s current musical fascinations in terms of the producers he is working with be they new, unknown or more established. CD Track List: 01. Will Saul & Komon – Bendy 02. Animal Hands – Beacon Island 03. Komon & Appleblim – The Visionary State 04. Joe Gray – Tozai 05. Cottam – Healing Process 06. Youandewan – Ego 07. Jabru – Church feat. Joel Culpepper 08. Lrusse – Presence 09. Walton – Birds 10. Leon Vynehall – Time 11. Will Saul & Komon – Two For One (DJ-Kicks) 12. Sei A – Reserve 13. Axel Boman – Dubbel (dub) / CLOSE feat. Tikiman – Born In A Rolling Barrel 14. Sei A – JTR 15. October – KR-100 Dub 16. David Clement – Follow Me Home (Lee Jones Remix) 17. Marquis Hawkes – Life Struggle 18. Bicep – Nova 19. Will Saul – Pedal Power 20. Legowelt – Etherial Techno Music Will Never Die 21. George FitzGerald – Wanting Needing 22. Gerry Read – Baseball 23. Escape – Flinch 24. Second Storey – Oxygene LP Track List: A1. Axel Boman – Dubbel (dub) A2. Animal Hands – Beacon Island A3. Joe Gray – Tozai B1. Cottam – Healing Process B2. Lrusse – Presence B3. Walton – Birds C1. Will Saul & Komon – Two For One (DJ-Kicks) C2. October – KR-100 Dub C3. David Clement – Follow Me Home (Lee Jones Remix) D1. Legowelt – Etherial Techno Music Will Never Die D2. Gerry Read – Baseball D3. Second Storey – Oxygene
  • !K7 DJ Kicks Release and AUS Music Label Night with Will Saul October and Youandewan - Flyer front