Giant Steps Live - Tom Herbert, Dave Okumu, Pete Wareham & Jonny De'ath


RA Tickets

Giant Steps Live - Tom Herbert, Dave Okumu, Pete Wareham & Jonny De'ath

Giant Steps
Sun, 5 Sep
Buy tickets
  • ̸


    OBSIDIAN PALMS Tom Herbert (bass) Dave Okumu (guitar) Pete Wareham (sax) Jonny De'ath (drums) + DJ support from special guest
  • Share
  • Obsidian Palms is the new project from bassist Tom Herbert, guitarist David Okumu, saxophonist Pete Wareham and drummer Johnny de’Ath. Drawing inspiration from funk, dance music, hip-hop and dub as well as jazz and experimental genres, their completely improvised music is food for both the body and the brain. Already one of Britain’s most respected and sought-after songwriters, producers and musicians, Dave Okumu has collaborated with an array of artists, including; Arlo Parks, Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien, St Vincent, Tony Allen, Joan As Policewoman, Jessie Ware, Grace Jones, and Adele. He is also the founder, singer and guitarist of Mercury nominated band The Invisible and OHS Trio. Okumu will release his first full-length offering, Knopperz, on 24th September via Transgressive Records. Pete Wareham is an innovative British saxophonist, composer and band leader. He leads the genre-defying North African/punk/jazz/dance band Melt Yourself Down and is a member of Nadine Shah’s Mercury Prize nominated band. For many years he was the leader of influential group Acoustic Ladyland and a member of drummer Seb Rochford’s bands Pulled By Magnets and the Mercury Music Prize-nominated Polar Bear. Wareham has also played saxophone with Sons Of Kemet, Mica Levi, James Chance, Supergrass and Ben E King. Bassist Tom Herbert is a founder-member of the Mercury Music Prize-nominated band The Invisible and instrumental power trio OHS Trio. He is currently performing with The Liam Noble Trio, Mark Lockheart’s Dreamers band and Soccer96. He was a member of influential alt-jazz groups Acoustic Ladyland and Mercury Music Prize-nominated band Polar Bear and has performed and recorded with a wide range of musicians including Paolo Nutini, Frank Ocean, Adele, The Smile, Lianne La Havas, Beck, Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela, Ghost Poet, Cibo Matto, Beth Orton, Shabaka Hutchings, Alabaster dePlume and on the theme and soundtrack to the cult BBC comedy League of Gentleman. Johnny de’Ath studied drums under legendary Blue Note drummer Clifford Jarvis (Freddie Hubbard, Sun Ra) before going on to play and tour with music artists from Dr John to Mavis Staples. He has worked with Grammy award-winning Director Tony Kaye for a project on the joy of music for young people with autism and is currently writing new music for his own project 10Tigers, a collaboration of poetry and music. He has choreographed the music for some of the world’s leading arts institutions and brands, including Frieze Art Fair, the Venice Biennale, the Serpentine Gallery, London Fashion Week, Sou Fujimoto and Yves Saint Laurent. Here's approximately how the day will run: 1300 - Special Guest DJ Set 1600 - OBSIDIAN PALMS (LIVE) 2100 - Close
  • Giant Steps Live - Tom Herbert, Dave Okumu, Pete Wareham & Jonny De'ath - Flyer front