• Coming from the west coast of Finland, Vaasa. Started collecting vinyl records in early 2000s. Deejaying since 2004 as DJ Mesa-Vatti, playing sounds from ambient to dub reggae to techno and house. Live act as Vesa-Matti since 2011, concentrating in dee..
    Vesa-Matti Kivioja hails from the city of Vaasa on the west coast of Finland. Gaining interest for everything audio related from early on, he initiated his own productions in the late 90’s followed by record collecting and DJing. After playing in different bands throughout the years Vesa-Matti wanted to put his main focus on his own productions. Fast forward to 2011 and Kivioja launched his live acts that consist of techno, dubby electronica and ambient, often tailored especially for events. Vesa-Matti Kivioja released his 7-track debut vinyl “Lopun Ajat” on Ljudverket in 2013 followed by more EP’s on Labrynth (US) and Subself Records (Ukraine). His debut album was released in 2015 on cassette by Finnish label Kaukana Väijyy Ambient. The same year he launched his own imprint Snakesynk with a 12-track album. Kivioja is also involved in the Ostrobothnia Power Discs label and is a member of the Meltdown Deejays collective which was founded in his hometown Vaasa back in 1993. His production standards and fresh sound are the keystone for his music that gains more followers all the time.

    Selected discography

    DJ Mesa-Vatti & Miska Immanuel - Dubmension 80 Minutes of Dub (cdr 2005) Vi La Pu Po – Spiraalimetsä Jäätyy (Tule Ystävänä cdr 2006) Vi La Pu Po – Universum Tour (Tule Ystävänä cdr 2007) Kuningatar Putous – Tour (cdr 2008) Vesa-Matti Kivioja - Lopun Ajat (Ljudverket 2013) Vesa-Matti - Dismal EP (Subself Records 2013) Vesa-Matti - Kulminoi EP ‎(Labrynth 2014) Vesa-Matti - Enchant EP ‎(Subself Records 2015) Jepeekk / Vesa-Matti - OPD-001 Ostrobothnia Power Discs 2015) Vesa-Matti - Palaset I ‎(Snakesynk Records 2015) Vesa-Matti Kivioja - Muistot ‎(Kaukana Väijyy Ambient 2015) Vesa-Matti Kivioja - Universo (Ljudverket 2016) Metavitsa - Roots Of Despair ‎(Ostrobothnia Power Discs 2016) Metavitsa - Transcript EP (Ostrobothnia Power Discs 2016) Vesa-Matti - Miller Street Sessions (Meltdown Deejays Recordings 2016) Vesa-Matti Kivioja / Kollektiv Jurmo - Connection EP ‎(Meltdown Deejays Recordings 2017) Vesa-Matti - Geosynkron EP (89:Ghost 2018) Vesa-Matti Kivioja - Mineral Waves ‎EP (Ljudverket 2019)