Hüma Utku



  • "Istanbul-born and Berlin-based artist excavates the musical traditions of her once and future homes, fusing traditional instrumentation and rhythms with scalding ambience and atonal distortion." - NOISEY
    Istanbul born and raised, Berlin based electronic musician and sound artist Hüma Utku explores the possibilities of how sound textures and rhythm can be used to evoke a sense of ancient within abstract electronic music. With an overall disregard for musical genre divisons, she fuses field recordings, acoustic instruments, atmospheric ambience; into harmonious noise and harsh ritualistic rhythms as means to utilise sound and music as tools for storytelling. Combining her practice of music with her studies in psychology; Utku's works draw inspiration from human condition, Jungian psychology, mysticism and ancient folklore. In August 2018 Şeb-i Yelda (EP/12'') was released by Karlrecords, which presented Utku (as R.A.N.) with an evolved sound and strong theme. Following the widespread success of her EP, Utku released her debut full-length album under her own name Gnosis in July 2019 via the same label. This release gained Utku recognition for her unique approach of creating sonic story plots by merging themes with electronics and folkloric sounds. Later in 2019, her rework of Vanessa Wagner's Struggle for Pleasure (originally by Wim Mertens) in company of selected artists like Wolfgang Voigt (aka GAS), Suzanne Ciani & Vladislav Delay, was released by the Paris based InFine music. Her work has received notable press from platforms such as The Wire, Noisey, RollingStone, Redbull Music, Groove Mag, Gonzo Circus and Scene Noise among others, as well as getting broadcasted by seminal radio station and platforms such as BBC Radio 3, NTS radio, RAI 3 (Italian National Broadcasting), Resonance FM, YLE (Finnish National Broadcasting) and Sveriges Radio (Swedish National Broadcasting).

    Selected discography

    RELEASES: Şeb-i Yelda EP (2018, Karlrecords) (DL & 12'') GNOSIS (2019, Karlrecords) (DL & LP) ​SELECTED REWORKS & V/A CONTRIBUTIONS Struggle For Pleasure [released by InFiné, 2019] (INLAND Reworks by Vanessa Wagner, DL) She Walks/That Sword [released by Forward UK, 2019](These Are Our Friends V/A, DL) No Crystal Ocean [released by Deep Electronics, 2017] (Deep Diversity Vol.5, CD/DL) What Hath Night To Do With Sleep? [released by In The Void, 2015] (In The Void V/A, CD/DL)